Facebook Facelift – What’s New for Your Fan Page

Posted on Updated on


Before I get to Facebook – I’ve GOTTA tell you about the cool event I attended last week –  HayHouse Publisher’s “I Can Do it at Sea” cruise.  I spent days driving 1500 miles back home.  Thank God, because it’s taken me that long to process everything I learned.  Yes, I learned, but boy, did I have fun, too!  If you’re toying with the idea of going- don’t hesitate – they should call it “The No Bull-S**t Tour for Marketing Your Next Book.”  Great information, great people and so much fun.  Where else can you have Wayne Dyer in your lifeboat and Brian Weiss sitting next to you at a comedy show from the Westerdam’s posh auditorium?  Yeah, trip of lifetime – Here’s a taste of what I did last week:

The best presentation?  Hands down, from Hayhouse’s Marketer – Margarete Nielsen.  I was able to ask my burning question – is it me or is Google Adwords not the biggest bang for the buck it used to be?  I’ve been finding my clients are having much more success utilizing Facebook than Adwords.  Happily, Margarete said they’ve been seeing the same thing and shifting their focus over to Facebook.  So, little guys… unite! Facebook is bringing in the bacon – out-distancing Adwords and Twitter.

I just went on Facebook today, and they’ve made it sooo much easier to showcase your fan page (eh…” like page”, I guess!)  I clicked on the upgrade and here’s what I found:

  • I found it much easier to navigate to my “Events” page – critical for the seminars I’ve gotta get busy producing.  They’ve mirrored the individual page to make it much easier to find events, photos and discussions.
  • You now have two Wall filters. You can show posts by your page and top posts from Everyone, a new way for people to see the most interesting stories first. As an admin, you’ll have additional filters for viewing posts on your page.

That’s cool stuff, but this next piece is HUGE – You now have the flexibility to interact with the other areas of Facebook as a page.

  • Get notifications when fans interact with your page or posts
  • See activity from the pages you like in your news feed
  • Like other pages and feature them on your page
  • Make comments as your page on other pages

I could’ve really used that during my trip!  I tried logging into my YouTube account and having it tie directly to my Got Clicks page instead of my personal page, but YouTube hasn’t caught up with Facebook yet.   I’m still testing out the new Facebook interface for fan pages and so far, I really like it.  Once I revamp the “Facebookin’ for Bucks” webinar to reflect this change, I’ll let you know so you can check it out for yourselves.  In the meantime, if you want to schedule a go-to meeting to have help one-on-one, I’m happy to give you a hand with that.  Just shoot me an email (info@gotclicks.biz) and we’ll set it up.

Happy Clicking!

Sarah

Leave a Reply

