More on Facebook Boost

Posted on Updated on


Facebook Road Show - BTV Got ClicksI went to the #facebookroadshow last week in Burlington and enjoyed the presentation, however, as an Event Marketer, I was a little surprised that some key components for a roomful of social media junkies were overlooked:

1)  Not one hashtag on any of the attractive blue Facebook folders for us to broadcast in real-time.  I had to stumble around on Twitter before I found the #facebookroadshow for the good ol’ #btv.

2)  The Burlington Small Business Page Facebook set up for us didn’t work until 4 days after the event.  If this were some local yocal outfit, I’d understand, but this is FACEBOOK… I was a little surprised.

Okay, enough kavetching (is that how that’s spelled?  Somebody’ll call me out on it.)  The case studies were compelling, the presentation smooth, they kept the audience until the end w/ a great prize of $2500 in Facebook ads, so that all went over well.  They had a full house, too – and bagels.  Great bagels.

Some of the things Facebook’s rolling out are pretty neat.  I’ve already told you my thoughts on the Facebook Boost in this last exciting Got Clicks episode… proceed with caution.  But this just happened while I was visiting the Burlington Business Group – when I clicked on notifications, Facebook has told me that 3 of my posts are performing better than 95% of my other blurbs.  Hmmm…

Facebook Got Clicks screenshot
Facebook’s recommendations on what to boost for Got Clicks.

As a marketer, I think that’s pretty darned clever, don’t you?  Facebook’s going out of its’ way to tell me which posts would be a good bet for a boost.  Kinda cool, however, once you start boosting, you’ll notice your spend gets progressively more pricey.  And when you stop?  Expect your reach to plummet.  That’s why it’s important on a business page to keep engaging with other businesses.  Don’t just visit your own page and stop there – go on your business feed and start conversations.  Join business groups where you can comment as your business profile.  If you can’t comment as your business, then encourage others to “like” your business page.

Facebook has a long way to go before they make it more business friendly.  Some of you may be scratching your head wondering if Facebook is even worth the time for your business.  My answer?  A very emphatic yes.  If you wanna know why, peruse my blog or better yet, just set up a time to talk and I’ll help you formulate a master plan for your social media domination.

My wish list for Facebook?

  • Make it easier to join a business group as your BUSINESS profile, not your personal one.
  • Have the business home page newsfeed easily accessible on a smart phone.
  • Show a few more ways to increase “likes” to your business page.

I hope the Facebook Santa’s listening…

9 thoughts on “More on Facebook Boost

    heather jabusch said:
    November 6, 2013 at 5:22 pm

    I really like your wish list and hope that Santa is listening as well. I also really like when it tells me that one post is preforming better than others.

    Knikkolette Church said:
    November 6, 2013 at 8:17 pm

    You are so right Sarah – engagement is key and being a part of a community or communities is important.

    Carly Alyssa Thorne said:
    November 6, 2013 at 10:36 pm
      Got Clicks? responded:
      November 6, 2013 at 11:53 pm

      Carly, wow! Thanks for the re-post; you made my day.

    Maggie DeGennaro said:
    November 7, 2013 at 11:11 am

    Wonderful read…I hope Santa is listening too…

    Tereza Litsa said:
    November 7, 2013 at 6:12 pm

    Hopefully Facebook Santa is listening!

    Miriam Slozberg (@msmir) said:
    November 7, 2013 at 8:25 pm

    Great read thanks so much for sharing this.

    Brian D. Hawkins said:
    November 8, 2013 at 1:24 am

    Facebook ads almost seem as complicated as Google AdWords to me. I’ve boosted posts several times and got nothing other than reach from it. I think it takes a little expertise and a lot of testing to get the most from it. Or you can concentrate on networks like G+ and advertise outside of social media. Facebook is hard to like. <- Soon to be famous quote. lol

      Got Clicks? responded:
      November 8, 2013 at 3:00 am

      Brian, I’ll be sure to give you credit for “Facebook ‘s hard to like.” :).

      Google Adwords is hit-and-miss; I have some clients killing it while others just aren’t seeing ROI. I think it depends on your focus and product – the more niched, the better. There are no cookie-cutter formulas to success. I do like the boost for certain strategic marketing, however, in the conference, some I talked to felt forced into an upsell. I believe the “pay-to-play” era is upon us.

      Thanks so much for your insight, Brian. I’m very grateful.

Leave a Reply

