R.I.P. Google Keyword Tool

Posted on


One certainty in Internet Marketing – change is inevitable.  I had done a webinar a few months ago called, “Niche not Noise” and turned it into a free e-book and video to show people how to brainstorm new business ideas and hone in on keywords to trigger a search for customers to find you.  Recently, I learned the Google Keyword Tool was no longer available, except if you setup Google Adwords.  I’ve created a video tutorial on using the new Keyword Planner which you can watch in this little 5-min ditty below:

A tool I mention in this post is Market Samurai. I find it gives me A LOT more information than the Google Keyword tool ever did. I loved it so much, I signed up as an affiliate to share it with others who struggle with finding the right keywords. There’s a free trial you can sign up for HERE. I highly recommend this tool.

Please let me know of any tools you use out there so that I can pass it along to others.

8 thoughts on “R.I.P. Google Keyword Tool

    Ann Zuccardy said:
    September 7, 2013 at 4:56 pm

    Why did they get rid of it? I thought it was pretty widely used and liked.

      Got Clicks? responded:
      September 8, 2013 at 6:55 am

      Google wants to encourage people to sign up for Adwords. You can sign up for a free account, however, I’m finding the Keyword Planner doesn’t return as many results as the old Keyword Tool did. Market Samurai I’ve had for about a year, it’s giving me more results, so until I find another tool that’s better, I’m sticking w/ Market Samurai.

    Carmen "The Wanderlust Woman" Perez said:
    September 8, 2013 at 7:09 am

    I was surprised by the removal and agree the planner isn’t as helpful.

      Got Clicks? responded:
      September 8, 2013 at 7:35 am

      Thanks for the comment. Market Samurai still has you sign up for Adwords (free account), however, I like that Market Samurai suggests articles relevant to your keywords. This is helpful in engaging conversations, which are mucho powerful in Google love these days.

    Dianna Booher said:
    September 8, 2013 at 11:47 am

    Thanks for the information!

    Maggie DeGennaro said:
    September 8, 2013 at 12:35 pm

    Interesting didn’t know this happened!

    Brian D. Hawkins (@HotBlogTips) said:
    September 8, 2013 at 11:30 pm

    I haven’t even tried Keyword Planner yet. I meant to give it a go this weekend but things just got too busy.

    Lynn O'Connell said:
    September 9, 2013 at 1:12 am

    Google is really pushing for log-in for many of their services. I can deal with that, but do find the changes in results surprising.

Leave a comment